more about women and cycling

Within its ground-breaking report about women and cycling, the League of American Bicyclists presented:

Wow:  60% of 17-28 year old bicycle owners are women!  I surely didn’t expect that statistic.  The growth in bike commuting is also pretty impressive:  56% growth in just four years.  And check out Myth #9: men are not necessarily the face of cycling advocacy; 45% of paid staff at advocacy organizations are women.  Also? There are 630 active women’s cycling blogs.  We really are on a roll and the momentum is building.

The report can be downloaded in .pdf form here:  Women on a Roll.

Here are some of the health statistics from the report that I find most encouraging:

  • Bicycling just 20 miles per week reduces women’s risk of heart disease by 50%.
  • Active commuting — biking and walking — reduces women’s risk of cardiovascular disease by 13% (compared to 9% for men).
  • Women with an active commute of just 30 minutes were half as likely to suffer heart failure as women who didn’t have an active commute.
  • Women who walk or bike 30 minutes per day had a lower rate of breast cancer.

I overcame serious illness through cycling and I’ve stayed incredibly healthy over the last five years of being car-free.  I haven’t even had a cold in five years!  I can certainly attest to the incredible health benefits I’ve seen in my own life.  I feel healthier now than I was at half my age.  A little creakier maybe, but definitely healthier and much more fit.

Also described in the report: the five Cs of women’s bicycling:  comfort, convenience, confidence, consumer products, and community.

There is a lot of good information there. Please do yourself a favor and take a little bit of time to read it.  It’s inspiring!  I’m sure a lot of you already know much of what’s outlined in the report but having it laid out so clearly in one comprehensive report and with excellent references is eye-opening.  And it motivates me even more!  I hope you are equally as inspired as I am.

Ride to live; live to ride!

Leave a Reply

